everyday heartbreak

A cynic is but a frustrated romantic

The Style Column: Anarchy & the Unexpected – December 2013

When I was 17, I went to see Pirates of the Caribbean and discovered Johnny Depp. As a child and teenager I didn’t watch too much television, especially not American TV. For me American TV meant Friends – and Friends was the most awful thing I’d ever seen. So I don’t think I’d ever knowingly watched a film or TV show with Johnny Depp in it. Films, like TV, were not my thing; music was. From as young as I can remember, I’d always been thrilled by the Rolling Stones. To see on screen this anarchic, larger than life character soaked in the spirit of Keith Richards, I was hooked. I poured over all the photos and magazines I could get hold of with him in; I remember a particular article in Vanity Fair where he saunters into the lobby of a posh London hotel dressed in his hobo get up, and the well-heeled crowd are oblivious – I just thought that was so cool, to be in that environment and to have no care for tradition or propriety.

Read the rest of this entry »

Enough of Faux Vintage – December 2013

A terrible thing is happening and it must, must be stopped. I’d feared its arrival for some time, but it appears to be too late: faux vintage or fake antique is here and it looks like it might be here to stay – at least until fashions change again. The worst perpetrator is a well-known high street retailer; (without naming any names it is the one with excellent ethical credentials and mawkish Christmas adverts) that is currently selling a range of interior decorations under the name “The Curiosity Shop”.

Read the rest of this entry »

Something for the Weekend – The Best Dirty Weekends – December 2013

Really, the joy of a dirty weekend should not be in the destination, nor should it be the getting there. You shouldn’t need a guide book (unless it’s the Karma Sutra). No ruins, no National Trust properties, no Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (unless you’re talking about your lover unclothed) should be on the agenda, though if you’re feeling brave you could try a little outdoor nookie, and travel should be kept to the very minimum. No the joy, should be the joy of sex (and lots of it).

Read the rest of this entry »